Sensory Feast – The Color of The Wild

My two university courses are starting this week.  One will teach ‘critical thinking’.  I signed up to get away from the influential cloak of the world’s point of view.  I want to freshen up ways to look at a challenge; to upgrade my resolve.

Then my friend’s book, The Color of The Wild, arrived.  Every sense was injected with the juice of genius.  This is the closest I’ve allowed myself into becoming a “wannabe”.

Gin Getz, so determined and so aware of her needs, experiences multitudinous flavours of solitude – a woman of my ilk and kith.  Even in the milieu of many, she scoops her time and space to create, regenerate and be – alone.

A single mother, it took time to find the man who stands beside her today…not only in stature, but in his ability to love with matched dignity and profound depth.  With uncanny parallels as a base for commitment, Gin and her son adopted Bob, now a phenomenal husband and father.

Her book kept me from sleeping. The next morning during Yoga, mindfulness thinned and I strove to keep myself from riding horseback, beside this woman, into the headwaters of the Rio Grande:

Raw Soul

Raw Soul

I wrote in Goodreads:

Just when you think all the adventures have been done. Just when you think only big, loud and pushy people can survive a winter’s wild wonderland. Just when the world has convinced you it’s impossible to live without all the latest conveniences and trappings…

…along comes three people who show us another way to think.

Whether they nurture domesticity in the folds of a Colorado mountaintop, ride horseback into backbreaking “ditch clearing” duties that determine the direction water will flow…whether they grieve over the ravages of a relentlessly destructive beetle or mend each others hearts after the inevitable loss of beloved animals, when you read this book, you’ll live with three hardy souls, rendered as tender and fragile as the aspen leaf in autumn, who take time to hunker down and wallow in gratitude over nature’s endless and abundant giving and taking away.

Yes, it takes grit. But it takes more.

Let Gin Getz show you.

How innocently I found such good reference material for my course in “Thinking” when I opened Gin’s book.

(For even more exposure to critical thinking, my next read is Victoria Slotto’s “Winter is Past”.  It’s about a woman who donated a kidney to a dear friend five years previously and is now in danger of losing the remaining kidney.  How would I feel being the one who received the kidney?!  )

23 thoughts on “Sensory Feast – The Color of The Wild

  1. Wonderful review and it sounds like a book I’d love to read. Just and FYI, my novel is told from the point of view of the kidney recipient. So hopefully you will get a sense of how it feels. That was my biggest fear about my transplant…that something would happen to my donor. Blessings, dear lady, and have fun learning. It’s so important.

    • It will be a treat reading Winter is Past, Victoria. I’ve found reading books by fellow bloggers is like wrapping myself in a blanket of familiarity – folded with “literary fingerprints” and held with “literary voice”. It’s unique. Perhaps the closest experience was having my mother read stories to us in our one-room school during my earliest grades. Familiarity delivering new adventures.

  2. What an interesting week you’re having dear Amy! Isn’t it fun to read a book written by a blogger you know only to discover it is a great delight of a book! Now I’m off to buy a copy of The Color of Wild.

    • So true, Joss – reading a blogger friend’s work makes him/her come more alive. It’s like being given missing pieces of a jigsaw puzzle – knowing we’ll never have all the pieces just adds to the intrigue.

    • I don’t doubt there’ll be many passages of welcome familiarity for you, June. Some of her sensory descriptions remind me of living by Yukon and walking home on freezing Northern nights where the sky behaves like nature’s autobahn. Enjoy.

    • Sherry, since I know you live where many of us have reverence for simpler living in nature’s bosom, Gin’s book will likely appeal a great deal to you. Her courage even shines through the style with which she has written her memoir.

      Yes, and then Victoria’s book… As person who has actually had a kidney transplant, Victoria cleverly put a thought to work: what if my donor suddenly has to lose her remaining kidney? Victoria really did receive a kidney from a good friend.

  3. The quiet ones roar.
    Quite the complementary review…I’ll have to go for a peek.
    And good luck with the upcoming classes. What, one wasn’t enough? 😉

    • I thought I was independent until I read Gin’s book. What energy she possesses. I’m fascinated how a lifestyle off the grid puts such a different perspective on the fusses and furies of a conventional society. Gin demonstrates how it is simply not necessary to judge – just stay true to oneself and let it be even though it means ever being judged by others.

      The world is uncomfortable with people who don’t compete.

    • Her story makes my days without power in a huge snowstorm seem miniscule. I lived in that sort of climate when I worked near Yukon – but I had all the mod cons and a maintenance man at my beck and call. Not to mention a grocery store 6 blocks away.

      I’m LOVING “Thinking”. Wow! Does it show how much we go around thinking we know what’s going on…and what’s best for others!

  4. Hi Amy .. Gin’s book sounds amazing and I’ll definitely get it at some stage .. ordered! Victoria’s too .. yes I’ve often wondered when you see someone donate a kidney .. the ‘what if’ …

    Your Uni courses sound great .. and something I really should do … never quite sure where the should gets to … but other goals and things to address first …

    Cheers to you – Hilary

    • Perhaps you haven’t had much of a chance to fulfill your adventuress spirit lately, Hilary, so I hope you’ll enjoy a peek at Gin’s adventurous life. With yuour intrepid British spirit so alive, I envision you donning a pair of X-country skis to journey the 20 miles or so into their mountainous ranch. Or rent one of their delightful wee cottages in the summer. One thing about a winter trip, the bears are hibernating!

      Oh to be 20 years younger… When I left the Canadian North, it was because it’s paradise for the young and the partnered. I’ve never heard of a female trapper living off the land by herself!

  5. Pingback: So it’s spring. | Gin Getz

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

