So You Think You’re Right…

Oh boy.  I’m in deep trouble.  Thinking, it turns out is even trickier than I suspected.  I thought I could think fairly well – logically, sensibly, realistically, truthfully.  I knew we all think and see differently.  However, I’m amazed at how we do NOT see/hear/feel what is in front of us.

After the second session of this course, I’m already humbled .  I need to change a well entrenched attitude about seeing, hearing, touching.

I’m not talking about subliminal messages or visuals.  Thankfully, those claimed effects have been proven false and/or unsubstantiated.  No, I’m talking about illusions – what I thought was “obvious”.

I’m now challenged about how to trust my own faculties.  Like memory – let this 3 minute video show you what I mean:

Did you have any idea your brain (in this case memory) was so influenced?

Well, then there’s the power of observation:

Let’s hope the Profs plan to teach how we can live with all this illusion in an uninformed world.  Otherwise I may have to stop any input entering my brain.

Well, for at least a few minutes…

24 thoughts on “So You Think You’re Right…

  1. Amy, thank you so much for sharing this! It absolutely made my day… I have had hunches of this for so long, and it’s refreshing to see this (eerie) example.
    I hope you won’t mind my re blogging… 🙂
    cheers & blessings!
    Leslee

  2. Good grief. I didn’t notice ANY changes in the 2nd one…too busy looking to see who had a blunt instrument. Just shows how limited we are and how we see what we expect to see. As for the first video…downright creepy.

    • I too focused on the speakers in the video. There was only one small echo in the back of my brain. At the end, I thought…wasn’t the clock by the body dark instead of light? I thought I made a mistake. And that was IT. Even watching it a 2nd time, it was hard for me to grasp the differences.

      • Some day, Amy, I’m sure. At the moment I’ve got my hands full with a big (for me) contract job with the University…that is if my meeting tomorrow goes well. Also, I’m taking an online photo workshop which I had thought would be nearly over by now but is instead, just beginning. lol. So…there’s always next semester! 😉

    • While I was a bank manager, the city police put our branch through a mock robbery. When I saw the results of the info sheets the staff filled out after the “robbers” had come in, I wondered how police were ever able to have an artist do a composite drawing.

    • It seems, David, that as I age, even with great concentration, I find so many new people look alike! Oh dear…

      I trust you know about hugs of a 20 second duration do wonders for one’s health. Perhaps that would be a key to memory as well. ;D

  3. Staggering! I didn’t get any of the changes, focusing only on the speaker. And the fact that the image is distorted by the one before it is, literally, mind bending. Thanks for sharing these insights with us, Amy. Niw I’ll have to lie down in a darkened room to unscramble my brain! 🙂

    • I’m so glad the University gives us permission to share some of these resources. Some of these insights could be so beneficial as general awareness in our attempts to achieve empathy or compassion. Communication has always been of great interest to me because of the challenge of actually being able to “meet” in harmony with even a modicum of understanding.

  4. Hi Amy,

    A superb post. I found the ” Illusions: Fiction of memory” pretty awesome.

    So what is it really that make our occurring of an external situation unique to us and different from others? And if this be indeed different, what practices do we need to adopt to build effective bridges to and understanding of another person’s occurring of the same situation? We do realise that that these two questions in themselves hold the key to powerful transformations in the realms of Leadership and team coordination.

    My understanding is that each one of us carry two aspects within us- First, “A World View” for holding an overall perspective of how the world occurs around us and second, frames of reference applicable to specific set of situations. Both these, jointly and individually, constrict and shape our perspectives. How do they do that? Through our network of unexamined ideas,
    beliefs, biases, prejudices, social and cultural embedded-ness, and taken-for-granted assumptions about the world, other people, and ourselves. This in fact constitutes an important aspect of our Being.

    So if the above is our ‘Being’ , which in other words, means who we intrinsically are, could we ever get rid of the illusions that we hold? And if we cannot, then how could we engage and live with them in an empowering manner? I suppose this is the journey you have currently embarked upon and wish you consciousness in that.

    Shakti

    • Yes, Shakti, the course is showing as well as “telling” different factors involved in our believing what we see, hear, taste, feel, etc is real. Of course, as we live and age, we learn how powerfully the mind can influence – through conditioning, expectation, suggestion, knowing. I’m enjoying learning how it occurs. We can so (naively) be totally certain and so inaccurate. I believe I’ll gain a far clearer idea of the much-used word “illusion”. Will it help me be more patient with my fellow human being or will the awareness make compassion/patience difficult. That will be up to me…

    • So often we think we have all the key facts! In fairness, the video did hone in on the individuals while they spoke (and while the changes were being made) so we were encouraged to focus on and capture their every word. We weren’t able to see the “expanse” sufficient to take in details so we could notice changes. As I said in an earlier comment, I did question the clock by the body by the floor. But I thought I was mistaken.

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

