Blog of the Year Award – One Amongst Equals

Blog of the Year Award 1 star thumbnail

(Origin: The Thought Palette)

Imagine!

 Becca at “On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercups Tea”

presented me with this nomination.

Talk about giving my heart a vitamin pill!

– Thank you, Becca –  

you bowled me over with this vote of confidence.

(When we learn how to manufacture this Love pill you just served 

we’ll put pharmaceuticals out of business.) 

My Beloved Guides teach me to laugh at myself.  They’re chuckling now.  They have been presenting a stream of reminders of the Love that is here for the asking.

It’s here for all of us.

We simply need to ask.

I forget.

How about you?

At times, the world weighs.  The demands may be as silent as midnight on a mountain peak, but my sense of helplessness can mute my soul overwhelmingly.

Here’s what I mean (This may appear “religious”.  It is not):

Years ago a tiny nun, as vibrant as a flag tied down during a mountain’s blizzard, came to teach Contemplative Meditation techniques.  Twenty of us were each given a different passage from the Bible and Sister Lucille began guiding us through the process.  We were silent throughout this process.

We re-read our passages between stages of absorbing them, considering them, and thinking thinking about them.  In other words, we allowed the meaning to seep into us.  “There is no right or wrong,” she assured us, “it’s how your passage speaks to you.”

After finalizing the third reading stage, the meditation began:  “Now!  Let yourself go into the scenario,” she urged.

In my passage, Jesus went into the temple and turned over the money-changers’ tables.  I observed his determined demeanour as he steadily and predictably moved from one table to another.  He spoke with authority to merchants as he drove away doves, sheep and cattle.  The money-changers stood back – afraid, unsure and angry.  Jesus’ reputation had preceded him.

That was the end of the passage given to me, but not the end of my meditation.

I was in the story.  It continued.

When Jesus turned to walk away, one of the money-changes, Levi, called out to him.  “Please.  I want to talk to you!” he said to Jesus.  “Come and break bread with me in my home where we can speak uninterrupted.”

The disciples were miffed.  They could not comprehend Jesus “lowering” himself by sharing a meal in this money-changer’s home.  Jesus responded by alluding to the shepherd who will leave his herd to rescue one sheep that is lost.

Although I was an observer throughout most of the meditation, I was shocked to realize I could also be each one of the characters during pivotal moments.  I felt Jesus’s sadness over the disciples not yet being able to see the unity of humankind; his knowing that they would eventually understand, but feeling the aloneness wash over his being yet again.

At the end of the meditation, Sister Lucille called us together.  We were invited to share our experiences or ask questions.

There was no way I was going to reveal my claim to bearing feelings reserved for Jesus.  How dare I?

After a few people spoke, a man who is an ordained clergyman, began his description.  Tears dripped off his cheeks.  His passage had been the one about Jesus washing the feet of the disciples.

The clergyman, without hesitation, said he’d been Jesus throughout his meditation.  I was awed.  As Jesus, he found himself washing endless pairs of feet, not just those of the disciples.  He wept over stories told to him as he washed people’s feet.  He wept over his love for their humanness.  He wept because he dared look up to see the line of people that would last forever.

It’s like the endless number of profound messages in a forever line-up of excellent blogs.

At times, I feel overwhelmed standing amongst you.

At times, I am so full of the clatter of doing business in the Temple that I don’t see the reminder of what is sacred.

At times, I feel washing feet is the only service I can possibly offer.

Then, my Beloved Guides send me a miracle.  They send me someone like Becca.  And they remind me that each one of us, if we could only see our beauty in the way The Divine sees us, we would never be overwhelmed.

***

Now the difficult task choosing a few to nominate… I will nominate some bloggers who, especially in 2012, have reminded us that all of us are here for more than foot washing.  I’m basing the nomination on:  their stories, the lives they live, the Love they emanate, the insights they share, and the basic goodness they serve consistently.

They fill me with such hope for great line-up of humanity.

Liz (aka Raven) at Nohwhere

who, living up to her name, describes herself:  “Old, crafty, stylish, shape shifter, loyal, kind, takes no prisoners nor any B.S.”  She forgot to mention “wise as hell”, but trust me…she could spot a wooden nickel from the top of any political platform.  When it comes to detecting phoniness, she looks like she invented x-ray vision.

Gin Getz

who has left her mountain ranch in Colorado (for a few months) to help another ranch woman,  in Patagonia, write her memoirs.  What an adventure!  Gin doesn’t travel light – she packed up two of her Loves – her husband and her German Shepherd.

Valerie Davies

who not only writes about the magnificence in the ordinary, but walks the talk by putting out numerous containers of water for all living creatures.

Tammy (Agrigirl)

who educates her readers about important issues such as buying locally and healthily grown food.  Plus, she practices what she teaches.  Her family will be carrying the message.

Shakti at Esgee Musings

who says that he seeks inner peace through Gratitude, Learning and Beauty.  His wife and he, both India-born, are well-educated parents of two young adults.  They currently live in Oman.  Shakti’s presence in the Blogosphere is one of gentle questioning and superlative encouragement.  He personifies what he seeks.

♥♥♥

I will stop now.

When all who qualify are listed at one time, the line-up is too overwhelming.

35 thoughts on “Blog of the Year Award – One Amongst Equals

  1. No one my friend quite exemplifies love as do you. Through you and through your guides you have managed to teach me about that love … the love that changes the world. And I choose simply (I am not sure I chose) to be a conduit of the beauty of that love for this year and to remain active in doing/being so. Thank you for your consistent encouragement over the year, your friendship and your eternal shining light. You have beautifully demonstrated the connection between us all. I have much gratitude for this meaningful gift that you have given. Thank you from deep within.

    • Raven, thank you for being one of the humans on this planet who is not afraid to address the truth. I’m going to take lessons from you in how to deliver it with loving kindness so it’s heard and can do its job. I work on that continuously. The down side of having x-ray vision is the fight to not hit someone with it! 😀

    • Hi Charles – I was just having a good romp on your site. You ol’ eagle eye! Not much gets past you. Mind you, if you spent much time with Aunt Bea…

      Tell me, O Silent One, will there be an announcement about a book? You are surely up to something!

  2. Your story made me think about how terribly important it is right now for Americans to talk to one another, to listen, to empathize, to really hear what each other is saying so that we can arrive at some way of solving our many problems. Thank you blessed one!

    • Wouldn’t that be a coup for the world, Linda?

      One time, I heard an Anglican Priest say that he wanted to be the kind of listener who hears so deeply that he sits on the verge of changing his mind many times in the conversation – not as a fence sitter, but as an empathic. He wanted to be able to overcome the determined tangle inside that screams, “I can’t hear you through my rightness!”

  3. You are a shining light Amy. Its true I haven’t laughed much at myself recently and as for love there isn’t much out there on the streets. I feel as if you’ve washed my feet. Thank you dear one.
    I’d also like to applaud rangewriter for her comment that we must talk to each other and “hear” each other. We spend too much of our time shouting over each other feeling we know best.

    • I just responded to Linda, Rosie, about being deaf because we are so “right”. Maybe we need to campaign for two new subjects in schools: One is teaching every student martial arts – stressing the spiritual as well as the physical aspects. The other is listening skills.

      We need something that “pops”. Some brilliance is needed that opens the gate and ushers in something that stirs the inner workings of humanity so profoundly that we will want to lay all that stuff aside. It’s impossible to solve a myriad of issues that hold so many different opinions. We spend all our time and energy fighting over thousands of little things for which there is no agreement.

      Love is everywhere. If it’s in you and me, Rosie, it’s in the vast majority. I’d like to see North America turn off the TVs, stay away from newspapers for a month and not increase time on computers. Imagine.

  4. Hi Amy – you have very wise words for us – often coming from a different approach .. as this post does here. I learn a great deal when I come here from you and your commenters –

    Rosie’s comment above endorsing Rangewriter’s ‘advice’ … we should all listen more and appreciating other’s thoughts and feelings in the moment .. as you do too ……. “How about you?”

    Great to be back here … have a peaceful weekend .. and congratulations on your award, and the others too … Hilary

    • Thank you, Hilary. And yes…those comments about listening. What a gift to be heard. What a sense of accomplishment we give to a person when we show evidence of having listened. It validates in so many ways.

      Today, we compete with continual data entry and have seconds to throw in our sound bites. How much do we enable this trend? That may be why we love to write, Hilary.

  5. Dear Amy, what a wonderful post. I loved the story of your course and the insights you all gained in your exercise. It reminded me of a meditation course I did years ago with a Hindu group. At the end we went round the room, washing each other’s feet.. We didn’t get to do everyone and I was heartbroken that we didn’t. Because… washing the other person’s feet was an experience of such bliss – as we knelt at their feet, and acknowledged their glory, we all had tears running down our faces. IT was an exquisite experience and It was such an honour to wash another person’s feet in love….
    Congratulations on your award. You and your writings are so uplifting, and inspiring, it’s so good you’ve been acknowledged.
    And thank you for thinking of me, and writing such generous words, with love, Valerie

    • Valerie, thank you for finding the time to continue writing on your blog. I realize we risk “carbonizing” if we don’t write, but having a loved one in poor health is no easy situation.

      I so appreciate you writing about washing the feet of your group. The effect of this simple gesture is so deep. The story causes me to consider your feelings, those whose feet were missed, and those of the ‘time keepers’.

      You are welcome – thank you for contributing to our lives when you can.

  6. Thank you.
    You remind me of the simple truth time and time again.
    I celebrate the knowing.
    And I’m humbled for the chance to read here.

    And now–I will go visit! 🙂

    • Hi you with the purple cast. Hope the 3D puzzle hasn’t driven you mad. Thanks for sharing so honestly about yourself, Mel. You are an excellent mirror. Whooosh…off goes some healing to you. A gold blanket around a purple cast. Regal, Royal and Queen-some.

  7. A well deserved award Amy, Raven put it so eloquently. I also agree with rangewriter, hearing each other is one of the keys to getting along, and sharing the love.

  8. I love the positives and the beauty that I come away from your site feeling……thank you for what you do to Increase the Light and the Energy on this plane……….I loved the tears of the man who saw the endless line of feet to wash stretching to infinity……..each one’s story so amazing, each human heart so unique. Keep on shining. The work you do helps many more than likely you can imagine.

    • What an incredible comment, Sherry! Your depth and love shines through your words. If my efforts do reach out to others, it’s the least I can do to say thanks for being given life – even with all its ups and downs.

  9. Thank you Amy for your kind acknowledgement. I remain blessed to be part of your Blogosphere initiative.

    There are times in our lives when we sense an all pervading feeling of Hope without really knowing the cause for the same. On the flip side one could also be confronted with feelings of Hopelessness and fear without being able to put a finger on the genesis. Have you ever had these feelings Amy? While I need to confess that I may be a somewhat infrequent visitor to this space, whenever I am here, I see the forum emanating a lot of positivity and hope and I would like to acknowledge you for the same.

    So keep up this superlative initiative Amy, all power to you!

    In light……..

    Shakto

    • If you are referring to the Occupy Blogosphere, Shakti, it was a year’s project in hopes of creating a positive default. I’m now ready to resume my focus on writing and sharing messaging.

      Hopelessness and fear – undefined and nagging? Yes, I have had that feeling, Shakti, and can still be gripped by its gloom unexpectedly. I want to remain an “innocent” which, in this case, I mean “devoid of skepticism”. I turn to meditation where I am reminded of the glory of each breath and its passage to an indescribable inner peace. In other words, I can wallow in that doom thinking or make a point of catching it sooner by returning to that inner sanctum. Simplicity and clarity are my rewards.

      • Amy,

        Your comment resonates. Yes, our breath holds the key.This aspect was known in India millennia back and we have several paths to achieve. Pranayama, Vipasanna, Kriya etc.The state of simplicity and clarity you mention is the path to Nirvana.

        Thank you for bringing these thoughts here.

        cheers

        Shakti

    • Lorna, isn’t that a way to deal with the endless line of all these blogs full of people’s hearts and souls! Over the past while, I’ve asked nominators to pass on awards to new people – remembering those times of deflation and discouragement when I wanted to throw in the towel and someone came along with an acknowledgement. However, Becca caught me at a time when I needed a boost.

      Thank you, Lorna. Using “Reader” has thrown me a bit from “family”. I have to remember I don’t get reminders of new posts – so I missed your post about the awards.

  10. “being each of the characters” being one of humankind. Thank you for sharing this. I hope you do not mind my sharing something I was drawn into last night that left me with the feeling you speak of here. My Granddaughter and I went to the movie “Parental Guidance”, a comedy about the less favorite Grandparents coming to care for their Grandchildren for a few days while the parents were away. It was funny and had some very poignant scenes that all of us have been a part of, at some time or another. At the end of the movie, one of the grandkids does something phenomenal and the movie ends on a high note. The credits began to roll to Phillip Phillips singing his hit song “Home”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTg1n95–KE
    No one in the theatre got up to leave. I began to hear singing and my Granddaughter and I began to sing the song. That entire group of people sat and sang that song together. REALLY!!!!!! No one got up and left! At the end, the lights came on and we all filed out quietly as we looked from one to the other and offered smiles. In my 60 + years of movie going, I have never experienced something so far reaching and it touched my soul very deeply. My Granddaughter said, “That was so cool, Grandma! Everybody was singing.” I told her that that experience was very special. We talked about the goodness in people and family all the way home. I told her that that had not ever happened in all the years I’d attended movies before. For a moment I felt our sameness and our love for one another as we, strangers, sat and sang together. I will never forget that and I don’t think my Granddaughter will either. Thank you, Amy for bringing us together, here, on your blog.

    • Leslie! I LOVE that song! I can’t believe you’ve just linked it to me – I didn’t know how to find it. I’ve heard it often on CBC – in the a.m. when I’m waking up – never heard the title or artist’s name so couldn’t find out about it. This is phenomenal.

      What an experience! Now I’ll make a point of watching this movie and picture this whole event you described. BUT MOST IMPORTANT – look what was given to your granddaughter!! Significant experience! Teachable Moment! And you companioned her through it.

      This is the ‘stuff’ expected to happen more and more… No great big deal. Just a whole bunch of the most uncanny and incredibly intimate and loving events.

      Thanks for taking the time to tell us.

    • If that was true, you generous heart, I’d have to clean up some of the language I use when people splash me with dirty water!! 😀 Oh, and learn more about patience and tolerance. And…

  11. Congratulations and a wonderful line-up to pass the award too. Several of my own faves there, especially dear is Liz.

    Enjoyed the description of the meditation exercise and outcomes.

    Be well, dear Amy.

    • While I wrote this piece, you came to mind frequently, Jamie – knowing enough of your background to realize that, if you did visit, you’d recognize Lectio Divina. I wondered if, in your current belief system, this sort of story would cause you to speed read. So thanks for your comment.

      • I believe all paths of peace are legit and worthy of a good read and an open mind, just different language and cultural expression. I learn from all, but I actually don’t join any … Occasionally I try, but it doesn’t work for me. In the end, they always seem like clubs.

        Currently I feel that Buddist practices and Catholic complement each other well as path, once you get past bias, predjudice, and superstition. I think, for example, that Meister Eckhart and Buddha would agree. Change out “God” for “Unborn” or vice versa, it’s all of a piece in the work of those two…. at least in my humble and admitedly ignorant opionion. I’m ever and always willing to listen to debate (nothing stident, of course!). You and your blog and teachers are and always will have a place my heart and a voice worth hearing. Lectio Divina ~ in the good heart, scriptures are always lively. 🙂 Hugs! and thank you for your work here, Amy.

        Not that you asked for all of this, but there it is. Okay not to read! 🙂

        I am just getting back to more frequent visits to blogs, much as I used to. Such a schedule these days: Doing all the prep work for transplant and doing my best to help two off-line friends who are troubled, one now in hospice. Sad, but I have the honor of sitting with her.

        • Fat chance that I wouldn’t read you, Ms. Dedes. Your description feels like an old slipper. Thanks for your willingness to express it.

          You underestimate the extent to which you rest in my heart. I haven’t been at sites or on FB consistently over the past year. I had to give more time to fitness, friends and good food. I don’t get around the blogosphere at the pace I kept for a couple of years. In other words I had to slice the time pie a bit differently. Consequently, I take great comfort knowing where to find you and connecting is a bonus. You are important to me, Jamie.

          Have I missed a post that detailed the plans/dates/news re the transplant?

          Marvellous that you are able to “sit” with your friend. What a comfort for her. Your band of people do such incredible caring.

          • I do remember when you posted about essentially getting off the chair and out and around and I understood that. That’s one reason for changing from “musing by moonlight” to “the poet by day,” attempt to break bad habits! I love that you added good food to the equation. I have always felt your affection and appreciation and am grateful for that.

            I hardly go on Facebook. Seems to lack some sort of appeal …

            Be well, walk long, eat good, and be with friends.

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

