Occupy Blogosphere – Thursday, September 27, 2012

– Borrowed from my Write on Edge writing group.-

Write every word
  as though the piece is going to your most respected mentor.

When you write because you must speak up?

Ask a handy litmus-test question:

“Will this

contribute to another’s,

and my,

spiritual growth?”

***

Please Join Us!

Every Thursday

we OCCUPY this space.

We give this planet a shot of

fun, support and positive energy.

.

Share something you’ve been wanting to tell the world.

or

Do an Occupy of your own and add a link in these comments.

.

This space thrives on positive material.  Soul Dipper reserves the right to decline any submission that is presented with a flair for the negative, deemed  to be derogatory or could be surmised as slanderous.

***

Α – Ω

44 thoughts on “Occupy Blogosphere – Thursday, September 27, 2012

  1. Amy, I am uncertain how to share and join the conversation, but the thought you raise here has been on my mind. I just wrote a rambling post addressing this entitled, “Grounded.”

    I ask this then of you and other bloggers: Many of whom wish we had a mentor and do not, so the exercise of writing as if we did is a good one. Healthy. Yet part of what we want a mentor for is feedback. And feedback feeds our growth. Do our blogs fulfill this void?

    • What would you like to say to the world? Post it and then come here on Thursdays and in your comment add a link to your post. It’s an electronic connecting. It’s easier than standing on a street corner with a placard. 🙂

      Feedback…there are writing groups on line who offer to provide feedback. I’m leery of putting my creativity in the hands of someone I don’t know. What are their credentials? Do they know how to critique professionally or do they simply know what they do or don’t like?

      I came across Victoria at http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com who taught writing. Earlier, she posted great lessons for writing. I loved being able to take a lesson in that way.

      You know, Gin, the reason I like to blog is that I know no one has wasted their money if they read my post and don’t like it. They will simply move on. Meanwhile, I have an outlet for self-expression that would explode inside if I couldn’t put it somewhere!

      • Though I am not brave enough for the street corner soap box, sharing words behind the safety screen of the internet is a step I can take, warily.

        I fear at times it all comes down to self promotion, self indulgence, self absorption, though as one writer friend reminds me, we must be self absorbed to write, to dive into our thoughts and take time to express them with written word. As you say, we would explode within without this outlet.

        Though you are both more generous and understanding than me. I touch my toe to the water to see how cold it is, and still expect the shark to bite. Or more than likely, the rip tide to whisk me off to sea, never to be heard from again…

        • I’m so glad you dipped your toe. I’m not flattering…your site has a powerful pull for me. Our visit leaves me with a bunch of nourishment. It’s like the stew has only the best ingredients, seasoned perfectly, and has simmered just the right amount of time.

          • No shark. No rip tide. Just a gently simmered stew. Such are the blessings of life, the gifts hidden in the best of days if we skip through the pile of leaves and look at what was stirred up.

            Thank you…

    • Yes, I know it does for me. I think that you raise a perfect question. Before I blogged I took classes all the time in order to hear what someone had to say about my writing. Blogging let me do that for myself while at the same time claiming the title, “writer”.

      • You know what, Tammy? All that ‘research’ you’ve been doing has paid off! It shows very clearly in the quality of your writing. You certainly didn’t waste a minute! 🙂

  2. That’s why I’m writing my memoir–I hope that it will help people see their life challenges not as reasons to be victims but as reasons to celebrate their inner strengths from the lessons they have learned for having met those challenges.

    Nice one today (as every Thursday)! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Occupy Blogosphere, Thursday September 27th 2012 – Willingness | noh where

    • Your contribution was salve to my soul, Raven. Your humbleness is enough to shape shift even the coldest heart – of that I’m certain. Any who cannot feel the love in the amends simply don’t want to! 🙂

      I will look into Mr. Linky. A poet friend used it, but I never joined in. Time for some research. Thanks!

  4. What an amazing, simple litmus test.
    And because I’ve been here, reading here for a chunk of time, I’d have to say “You’ve been asking this question for some time already, haven’t you?”
    And if you haven’t–I’ll remind you of how many times I have to read, re-read, pause…..and read again because of what happens in me and FOR me when I visit here.

    I was going to blame the Guides….LOL….but I don’t think it’s all THEIR fault!

    And thank you for hosting–I’ve now visited some very awesome places of some very talented humans. And Gin, of course, was one of them. Why I felt a need to walk silent and pause after reading her– Just me looking into ME…..again…….

    I’ll get around to contributing something again one of these times.
    Lately, I’ve felt inadequate to the task.
    I’m not sure that’s an all bad thing.
    I write a novel even when I have nothing to share…..LOL *hugs*

  5. Pingback: Who’s the Prisoner? – Occupy Blogosphere | "On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea"

  6. I have not been around much these past few weeks and am often feeling tired and grumpy. I will hold your question to my heart. For me right now, it’s more along the lines “is what I’m doing contributing to my and another’s spiritual growth?” because if it’s not, it’s not worth doing at all.

    • Thank you, dear nephew! I have to catch up on reading, Arindam. Life has been presenting some rather interesting options…but that will have to be told later once the results are known. 🙂

  7. Excellent advice, Amy ~ it’s so easy to write too much and overstate the case, or to get carried away and write a completely different story from the one you planned! I think that blogging is an excellent medium for honing up the skill of being able to say what you wish, simply, honestly and as succinctly as possible. The world is changing and old ways are no longer as effective ~ we are used to absorbing information in short ‘bytes’, we are globally aware and instantly connected through the Internet. It’s great to see the movement that you started swelling, my dear friend ~ the times are definitely changing! 🙂

    My contribution this week can be found here: http://wightrabbit.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/occupy-blogospherere-33

    • Another blogger from the UK has trouble posting so commented on the Soul Dipper Face Book page. I’ll bring the comment over here – but just so you know it’s not you. Also, I edited your link so it’s “hot” now.

  8. Since the folks in the UK are having fun posting today (Go Internet!), Jacqueline posted this on the Soul Dipper page on Face Book. I’m copying it here since she is a regular on the Occupy:

    Jacqueline says: Hi Amy! Have just written a long comment on the blog, but cannot post it! Excellent advice, Amy ~ it’s so easy to write too much and overstate the case, or to get carried away and write a completely different story from the one you planned! I think that blogging is an excellent medium for honing up the skill of being able to say what you wish, simply, honestly and as succinctly as possible. The world is changing and old ways are no longer as effective ~ we are used to absorbing information in short ‘bytes’, we are globally aware and instantly connected through the Internet. It’s great to see the movement that you started swelling, my dear friend ~ the times are definitely changing! 🙂

    • Just visited you, Jeremy, and I like your integrity. Bravo. We need people like you to point out, for example, that it is not cool to televise a suicide. Viewers have been inundated with so much human indignity that re-sensitization may prove to be the returning pendulum. Thanks for your comment and may you find your Eastern home with ease.

  9. That’s an interesting one, Amy. I’ve just posted on Edgar Allan Poe, and the strange coincidences which surround him. I’m not sure it contributed to anyone’s growth but I think sometimes just the joy of a diversion can relax and set one thinking for the day. It’s why I write. Life is full of the wonderful and the fascinating.

    • Kate, it’s a bonus to never know who will benefit from our writing. My best friend often amazes me with what she finds in my pieces.

      We bring ourselves to our reading…find the spots of identification and wallow. In addition to the history you bring with such creativity, I “watch” you as an aunt and sister. Plus since my mother was a teacher, I understand the pressures of school beginnings, endings and “inspections”! So with your writing, my spirituality is in the milieu of learning, remembering and simply enjoying. How much? One of my mentors would say, “That, my friend, is none of your business. Just write.”

  10. I’m playing mini-devil’s advocate here. I’ve found taking Ann LaMott’s advice and giving myself permission to write a crappy first draft has been freeing. It has dumped so many of those filters that say, “Erase this. It isn’t good enough.” I don’t apply the “test” until the rewrites.
    And you are so correct. It’s such a surprise to find some of our smallest words have given other bigs comfort. That’s when I know the writing wasn’t really born within me, but guided by something bigger.

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

