Attracting Solutions

On a more personal note:

My winter’s fuel arrived.  Early this year.  Do I really want to chop and stack a cord of wood again this year?  Didn’t I end up on the chiropractor’s table last year?

Maybe it will shrink in the hot sun.   Maybe the teenage boys next door will surprise me…

.

I’ll check with my guru.

.

What’s the wood chopper’s email address?

.

Sha-Zang! Chopped and Stacked. Even bark to heat the coldest days.

.

Amazing!  How did that get done?

.

It’s all in the nose!

.

Okay…I’ll confess.
Tired to the bone from stacking, but in a state of B-L-I-S-S.   A big thanks to the young man whose personality and life story was even more fascinating than his wood chopping abilities! 
If winter gets too cold,
if the snow is too deep,
if you’ve run out of homemade soup,
you know where to come!

41 thoughts on “Attracting Solutions

    • Kim, you are faster than Superwoman! And as gorgeous. Thanks for your compliment…but I wrestle with posting photos since it’s not fun being in my 60s in the day of digital everything! However, I know how all of us groan over photos of ourselves, then look at them when they are 10 years old and say, “Well, that wasn’t so bad after all!”

    • My walk buddy said yesterday, as we came up my driveway, “Look at that! All ready for winter, Grasshopper!” 😀 Even my woodchopper said, “Yours is the tidiest, most organized shed I’ve encountered.”

      The secret is, Charles, I loathe having to waste time looking for things! Plus, many people have special things that make them feel secure. A good woodpile is mine.

  1. Beautiful pictures and Perfect captions. Obviously my favorite is the one with the caption “It’s all in the nose”. 🙂 And I loved the last few lines of this post.

    • The funniest thing happened, June. Last year I chopped and stacked so adamantly that I came close to having a hernia. This year? The signs of the hernia began about two days before the wood was even delivered. Good body for letting me know! Can’t beat sympathy pains happening before the event! 😀

  2. Send him my direction–we have a horrible mess in the basement. *sigh* No wood stacking, mind you–just……messes!

    I should look so good when I get done sorting through the stuff! Wow…….you and the cat AND the stacked wood–LOOKIN’ GOOD!

    • When I start acting like a stone mason when I stack wood, I know it’s time to give myself a shake. But since I wasn’t chopping this year, only stacking, I piled a lot more in there than usual. Thanks for the compliment, Mel. Fortunately the (hyper) thyroid condition didn’t give him spikey fur which is what usually happens to cats.

  3. You look very ready for snow! I like you, love a well stacked wood pile, my Dad taught us that really early, and I am still a great stacker today. I love to stand back and just admire it. I loved yours.

    • Sometimes, Dee, the feeling of being snowed in when there’s lots of wood and plenty of food is the greatest sense of freedom! For a period of time, the world doesn’t touch, taint or tamper!

    • Ah, Joss, you are very dear for saying that. On a walk today with a friend, I was telling her how it’s hard to believe compliments as this aging thing takes over. But how can I discount you?! Many thanks.

      • Perhaps it is that we look in the mirror and see our story. Whereas others, unencumbered by out story, see our glory!
        p.s. not believing compliments is akin to seeing the giver of them as a false one! Something to think about, dear one.

        • Joss, I LOVE the little “poem” written in the first two sentences! That’s very creative – as well as full of wisdom!

          About not believing? Your point is exactly what I was saying to my friend. She had complimented me. I told her I used to say things to older people that I now realize was a little condescending. So because of my past sins, I am a little suspicious of others… However, I told her, I believe her. So, it is an accusation of falsehood, isn’t it? My lesson is to receive graciously.

  4. I thought you were going to try to tell me Duc did it. I wasn’t gonna buy that! What a lovely wood pile you’ve got. Looks so neat and orderly. And Duc looks sleek and healthy, soaking up those rays. Great photo story.

    • Thanks, Linda for the noticing the look of that wee beasty. Not all cats with his condition are sleek. Their fur can become tufted. Oh, I am grateful for the camera. It’s such support for the message!

  5. You and Duc look so good. It’s nice to have company when you’re working around the house. However, that doesn’t look like work, it looks like labor. Nice job and very nice photo story. Love it!

    • The mid-forties wood chopper had such an interesting life story that the wood pile almost disappeared too fast. Due to missionary parents, he’s lived in many places and travelled to many others when he left home. His favourite place, besides home, is Nepal. He was so taken with the people. His partner is from Chile so she adds to his intrigue!

  6. What a nice young man to not only chop your wood but tell you such interesting stories while he worked. The wood’s stacked so neatly I hope you aren’t going to make a mess of it come winter!

    • To think my brother told me I needed a nose job!! 😀 Yes, Beverley, it is who you know. And it’s all the more precious as we gracefully concede to physicality (sometimes) (somewhat) gracefully.

  7. Ah this was lovely to read and see your photographs. What a beautiful cat. Your post excited me because FINALLY we are about to have a wood burning stove installed. I have always lived in little (freezing) cottages in the Highlands of Scotland with open fires but when I married my man had a stonking heating system in the house so no need for a fire. I realised that I miss having a fire so much. There is nothing like the smell that comes from the wood and the wonderful noises and the glow from the fire. I hope your beautiful cat appreciates your efforts as it lounges in front of the fire when the cold arrives.

    • I’m with you, Jacqueline, it is marvelous having a wood fire and all its responsibilities. My little airtight sits as an insert in the fireplace and it does heat the whole house thanks to a ceiling fan. AND…You certainly have your facts straight. Duc sleeps hours in the closest chair to the fire throughout winter.

    • I love being able to run around with minimal layers of clothing, but I prefer to be on the cool side. The only time I can tolerate heat is when I’m in the tropics. That means a great beach! 😀

  8. Gorgeous post 🙂 Duc le Chat, you are simply magnificent, and so is that glorious stack of wood! You look so lovely and summery, Amy, but you conjure great memories of those magic BC winters!

    • Naomi, will you believe that I was thinking of Jina and you when I added that photo? We were supposed to have a terrible winter in 2011/12. It really wasn’t bad – it was spring that was bitterly cold. So now the forecast says this next winter will be tough. Well, my wood’s ready! I still have Johannesburg temps on my IPod Touch and see that you have come a long way from snow! Wild…

  9. Listening to the body is always a good idea Amy…although we often tend not to! But the work achieved is…wow! That home-made soup sounds mighty tempting Amy…we need to live closer…:)
    Loved the pictures…

    Stay well…stay warm…

    • For so many years I took my body for granted, Shamasheikh. Weren’t we invincible and beyond all the fuss older people make? 😀 I know I would enjoy your food, too! I like the oils, seasonings and blending of flavours that come from your part of the world.

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

