A Promise of Non-Violence

A steady diet of news –

talking about violence

can stir fear,

diminish hope and obliterate trust.

It needn’t be so.

My kitten, Hammie, daring to practice non-violence – 22 years ago.

.

Since, meeting violence with violence does not work, we need to know what does.

Thanks to this Ted presentation, we’re given clear guidelines along with an invitation to be hummingbirds placing drops of water on the fires of violence: 

As a young girl, Scilla Elworthy knew she needed to take action.  Years later, as a three-time Nobel Peace Prize nominee and a recipient of the Niwano Peace Prize, Dr. Elworthy lifts spirits into a “can do” attitude by showing how our planet is steadfastly turning toward non-violent measures:

(If you are having trouble activating the video, here is the link: http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/scilla_elworthy_fighting_with_non_violence.html )

50 thoughts on “A Promise of Non-Violence

  1. This is wonderful. I had tears of relief and joy at the end. To know that so many wonderful people are working like this gives us such hope for the world. May it spread like wildlfire! Have sent it to all my friends.
    Thank you so much for this Valerie

    • I had a sniffle, as well, Valerie. This is the hope the world can use. We need people to summarize progress occasionally instead of hearing one more negative! Thanks for passing it on. Every ounce of awareness helps shift the balance~

  2. It would be a lovely day to turn on the news and see a broadcast of love, peace, and hope. We’re lucky to even get a segment of hope some days on tv…one of the reasons I watch so little of it. This past week I’ve been witness to my own network/community practice love in action. It’s a wonderful thing when the world pulls together for the good of all.

    • Wow, Suzicate – wouldn’t it be great if we could just capture that energy and help it to remain continuously? Well, maybe blogs like ours contribute to just that! Sometimes it seems questionable, but who am I to judge? I’m so glad you are doing what you are doing. Speaking up is so important. I am grateful to have a hummingbird buddy.

    • Violence is sought for entertainment. Yikes. We all have the choice – the streak of miserable insensitivity is either fed or reformed. If people like Scilla speak up, more eyes can be opened. When anyone experiences a profound Love experience, they’re changed forever.

      • One of the most profound experiences I had was when going through my divorce. I had a choice to hate my husband who left me or to forgive him and wish him happiness. I chose the loving rather than the hating path. He wasn’t sure what to make of me, but I felt much better.

        • Right on, Lorna. You pulled a Karate move and bamboozled the poor guy! 😀 Taoism is great for that…go with the energy and let the perpetrator fall from their own thrust. It takes creativity – just like the folks Scilla describes in the video.

    • Yes, Kim, and you can be one of them, too. You are! You make a difference. How many other siblings who’ve lost a loved one due to violence are creating awareness like you? Your openness may not create a change to the insanity of the perpetrator, but I believe it will cause some victims to pay attention. Yay!!

    • Thank you for mentioning Hammie, Clegyrboia. He had one of the most amazingly sweet and loving dispositions. Unfortunately, I didn’t have him for long. He didn’t stick with his older brother and was hit by a vehicle. Still tugs at my heart even 20 years later.

    • Oh, Victoria, those times frighten me because I feel vulnerable. Amazing how other people seem to simply accept it. Hopefully men like the Lt Colonel grabs the attention of people who would otherwise be bullyish.

  3. As anothe rcommenter said, we can’t repeat the message of non-violence enough. And I find myself more and more trying to find words that aren’t associated with violence, only today I was thinking about a war on slugs and snails in the garden and was thinking how I hate the word war – I know it’s not exactly a brilliant example, but I’m sure you can follow my train of thought !! ! So I want to say I truly appreciate the word Peace.

    • A valid example, Claire. We don’t have to war with anything. I find gossip is violence. Scilla’s first point is that we need to look at ourselves and hear ourselves. Where are we violent without realizing? I find myself using icky words in the name of humour. If it can’t be humourous without harsh or negative words, it’s NOT funny.

  4. What a passionate speaker. Such such an inspiring talk…
    “How do you deal with a bully without becoming a thug?”
    Change must take place inside me. I need to develop self-knowledge.
    My fear grows fat on the energy that I feed it. Remember to say “I’m the adult, the fear is the child” and ask what can you do to help the child feel stronger….
    I wanted to write down everything she said. Thanks for sharing this Amy.

    Love the photo of your cat.

    • You and me both…how can I remember when I’m faced with someone giving me a sense of being violated?!

      That sweet little cat didn’t have a long life, I’m sad to say. I’ll never forget his incredibly gentle and loving nature – such as I’ve never experienced before or since. If there was such a thing as an angel cat, he was one.

  5. Amen!!!! I enjoyed listening to this and we cannot advocate non violence enough, especially today. Even our schools are seeing an increase in bullying.

    • Did you, by any chance, Diana, run across a way to clone Gandhi with even more substantive material than his words? I hope we’re aren’t overlooking one who is right under our noses!

    • As one person has taught me, that fear is an orphan that feels threatened. I’m told to take it out, hold it, tell it that I will look after it, love it and never abandon it. Quite a concept, but does it ever diminish the stress.

  6. Thanks a lot for spreading the message. In 21st century, if anyone among us thinks that, violence is solution to any problem, then he is completely wrong. Violence always ends up taking lives of innocent people rather than taking lives of the people who do not deserve a place in this world.

  7. Hi Amy .. amazing lady – I’ve certainly taken note … and I loved the examples she gave – what a great talk – TED is an incredible organisation .. thanks so much for posting … cheers Hilary

    • Yes, I’ve taken note, too. Funny how much we notice violence in others while seriously assessing ourselves! Violence is a a sharp voice, accusation, denigration, aggressive risks while driving… All sorts of action, words or deeds that have been accepted as commonplace.

      Hilary, I’m going to email you an article written by Nora Ephron. I’ve shared it with close women friends and I feel you would appreciate it as well.

  8. As always TED gives us inspiration and food for thought…thanks for sharing this Amy!
    Violence is never an answer to violence…however, in many scenarios it is essential to stand up to be counted with the hope and prayer that the bully understands this stance of non-violence and effort …this has to be a first step in being “the change we want to see around us”….unfortunately it is also often being the first victim…but change is never easy…

    • When I learned of TED, I felt great promise for the world. Goodness has another venue, Shamasheikh, and there’s still room for more. Let’s keep remembering that it is all about one step at a time. It all counts.

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

