What the Blog am I Doing?

BUNCHES OF GRATITUDE for your responses to my post about Managing the Bloghood.

Thanks for your comments, links, suggestions and emails.

All of us – readers and writers – are turning new sod.  We’re creating the need for a whole whack of new statistics and measurement devices.  Here’s why:

Blogging is transforming lives.

Blogging is transforming lives.

I have become cognizant of its impact on mine.   Some of that impact is good.  Some needs attention.

I’ve had a chance to digest your feedback and input, and do some research.

What have I learned?

I still want to write what’s in my soul.  I love meditation and dipping deep into my soul.  Though I post regularly, it will not be every day.  I want to share at least one concept worthy of being carried in your soul for a few days.

I love having people participate.  I hope each silent reader knows that, though you do not leave a comment, your readership and interest is highly appreciated.

I learned that reading good blogs takes time, especially since I want to comment with something relevant or meaningful.  I have started to use the “like” button more frequently, but I still enjoy leaving comments.  We all appreciate comments.

I have found a balance with socializing, community work and looking after my life.  I need and, am grateful for, outlets for giving back in both my real and virtual worlds.

My Guides responded, “We can throw as good a punch with five words as fifty.  Give us the time you can spare.” ( Ever the Guides, those rascals reminded me what great writers do!) 

Speaking of time, a post that feels familiar to my style, philosophy and time concerns is Virtual Business Life Style.  I’m not making a business out of blogging – that is not my purpose or intent.  However, I have a nose for good orderly direction.  The author has set himself up with a schedule that balances blogging with his internet businesses.

One of his commenters was a big help.  He made reference to the Pareto Principle.  It teaches rules of thumb like:

  • 80% of a business comes from 20% of its customers.
  • 80% of Italy’s land was owned by 20% of the population.
  • in the United States, 20% of patients use 80% of health care resources.
  • 80% of crimes are committed by 20% of criminals. (according to several studies).
  • 80% of the useful research results are produced by 20% of the academics

Question to myself: If 80% of my content comes from 20% of my life, which 20% am I writing from?  Is it the quality part of my life?

That lead me to the 1% Rule (Internet Culture).  Its premise is that “1% of people create content, 9% edit or modify that content, and 90% view the content without contributing.” As Heather Green cautions in Business Week, the 1% who comment on business sites can have a very significant influence on the success of that business.  In bloghood terms, does this mean the 1% who comment have a large influence on our blogs?

Question to myself: Do I leave quality comments on other blogs?  (I could just hit the “like” button.)

From there, I went to The Principle of Least Effort which, to quote from the Wiki site, “is a broad theory that covers diverse fields from evolutionary biology to webpage design. It postulates that animals, people, even well designed machines will naturally choose the path of least resistance or “effort”.”

Question to myself: Do I expect people to read a post that looks like I’ve used the Principle of Least Effort?

I want Soul Dipper to be:

  • spiritual
  • quality
  • habit-forming
  • available – regular, but not intrusive.
  • free of ads, moving objects and clutter
  • two-way.

Question:  Dear Reader…What do you expect or want from Soul Dipper?


44 thoughts on “What the Blog am I Doing?

  1. Firstly, thanks for the great links (helps with my current job / research).
    Secondly, Souldipper has given me an unexpected crutch on a journey I never expected to undertake and which is proving incredibly interesting to me.
    Thank you.

  2. Well considered. It takes some time to think all this out, and then things change – as they are want to do – and you have to reevaluate.

    I had a post on blogging ready to go up a few weeks ago and didn’t end up posting it. Am in the process of rewriting because I realized I hadn’t refined my new policies enough. Still working on that as it becomes more obvious what kinds of time commitments this new year and its responsiibilities will allow.

    Interesting stats you quoted and good questions posed. Look forward to more from you in 2011. And -by the way – your comments ARE valued. Thanks! 🙂

  3. I like the scope of what you put here, the fact that I never can predict exactly what its going to be. Blogs where I am never surprised tend to lose my interest.
    For a similar reason, I find it odd when writers blog about whatever work/novel/story that they are working on, in any detail, because the comments from readers can and inevitably will alter the course of that work. I always think keep it to yourself till its finished; it’s your story, so let it grow inside you, without the input of others.
    I found the statistics thing interesting; I am aware of people who surely read, and often enjoy enough to click LIke but never comment. I wish they would!!

    • Thanks for the feedback, Viv. Which reminds me…we met on a blog that we never hear from any more. I miss that Michael! I bet you do as well.

      My writing teachers warned us not to talk about our stories or books. They said it was like birthing. Once it’s out, it out! I would rather keep it inside until it’s time to write, too.

      I talk to my friends who don’t comment on my blog…they simply don’t feel comfortable, they tell me. I guess that writers just can’t resist and non-writers will gladly let us do all the commenting.

      • I know, I do wonder where Michael has vanished to.
        I don’t know that the people who generally comment are writers; many of mine do not consider themselves so. I do think that the process of commenting can be off putting; I can’t comment using my wordpress account on a blogspot blog. Multiply blogs you can’t comment at all unless you have a multiply account. WordPress does seem to have the easiest options for commenting.
        I marvel at the people who blithely talk about the book they’re working on, and even ask for input, or even title suggestions. It baffles me, but it takes all sorts I guess.

        • I’ve had no problem accessing comments on any blogs – unless, of course, the comment option is turned off. Hmmm…do I have any blogspot friends???

          We’ll just have to keep our eyes open for Michael. He was a delight to have with us as he deepened and discovered his seasoning.

  4. I found the 20-80% data very interesting. It’s like so many things in our society. And then the Internet too. I heard the wiki founder say the other day that there are just 50 or so employees at Wikipedia, and something like 400,000,000 hits a month. They must have the largest employee-user ratio in the world.

    I agree with you completely that this blogging thing can be very meaningful, when attention and effort are paid at both ends — the writing/posting, and the commenting. It takes time to build a community of bloggers. It is a tremendous thing, for those who feel open to it, and it has transformed my life.

    • Until I started blogging, I had no idea there would be so many very intelligent, interesting and interested people available to exchange commonalities and encourage a good stretch. It’s fascinating how we all feel our way through the protocols and practices until we find our niche. You would know, Ruth, due to the years you have under your belt (keyboard?) but I doubt one ever stop reshaping and remodeling our blogs. Hope not. I like being kept on my toes.

  5. Yes, exactly what I want from Souldipper, and I want those same things for my own offerings. You are right on the commenters, and sometimes, I also lurk without posting, but I return day after day. Thank you for researching the specs – they make sense.

    • Thanks, Arlene, and I’ve noticed some soulful changes in your posts that I appreciate. Comments do take time – or perhaps I’m taking too much time assimilating. However, it’s what I love doing so…I’ll just have to quit domesticity and live in my office! 😀

  6. What do I want from Souldipper? To continue to do what it has been doing; build my spirit.

    I have many readers but very few comment as well. Maybe they’re like your friends; uncomfortable? but if I don’t write what I write, then I am uncomfortable.

    I love your commentaries by the way. Love.

    • Thanks for your feedback, Kadian. Much appreciated. “Build your spirit”…are you in cahoots with my Guides? I think you have been doing some end runs with them! 😀 I love you, too, Kadian. Everyone in the world needs Soul Journer Sisters.

  7. It’s not for me to set expectations for SoulDipper ~ that’s your job. 😉

    Be absolutely determined to enjoy what you do . . . and you’ll end up where you need to be, when you need to be there.

    And don’t worry too much about statistics:

    * The biggest liar in the world is They Say. ~ Douglas Malloch

    * There are three kinds of lies: lies, damn lies, and statistics. ~ Benjamin Disraeli

    * Everything you read in the [blogosphere] is absolutely true . . . except for the rare story of which you happen to have first-hand knowledge. ~ Erwin Knoll

    Enjoy the journey!

    • Thanks, Nancy. I’ve had a slip of paper hanging around my life for some time. It’s a quote from the Buddha: “Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense.” Yes!!

    • Thanks, Charles. Appreciate the comments about variety. Others seem to have blogs with a theme or niche, whereas my offerings pour forth, oiled by those Guides in meditation, on whatever topic has infiltrated the silence. Okay. Here goes…

  8. What do “I” expect from you via your blog? What’s the best/most important/engaging you have to share at any point in time? What’s important enough for you to spend your precious time writing and posting it for myself and others to discover and explore.
    namaste

  9. Amy, this is an insightful, thought-provoking post–including the comments. I began blogging to build a platform for my novel but that is so far in the background now. I blog for the pure joy of being involved in a creative activity with other creative souls and the process is an end in itself. I agree that comments should be meaningful although that doesn’t necessarily mean wordy.

    A conundrum for me right now: I’m choosing the poem of the week for poetry potluck which means reading upward of 200 poems a week (every other week). I would like to comment on all of them but am slowly realizing that this does not always create meaningful interchange even though it might mean a boost to my stats. As someone mentioned, stats don’t really tell the story.

    One thing that makes my blogging meaningful to me is setting the intention at the beginning of my blogging session…to read thoughtfully and to somehow touch those with whom I come in contact in a way that will be helpful or healing to them. It comes down to remembering, mindfulness.

    Anyway, I’m trying to muddle through the challenge of volume, to figure out how to manage it.

    What I look for from your blog? Simply sharing of spirits, Spirit and something to chew on. Like this post.

    Love to you.

  10. I was in the midst of commenting here yesterday when my darling laptop decided to freeze…..and stay frozen……and quit working.
    I wanted to attribute it to the comment–giving my opinion dontchaknow. Like it should amount to anything?

    Ohnoyadon’t.
    In all honesty, ma’am–I’m clear from whence my marching orders come. And I’m pretty clear you do as well. (well, not marching ‘orders’ as it’s sometimes BUT NOT THIS time taken)
    We do what we do because we’re called to do it…something in us knows it’s right, it speaks to all that we are and it conveys truth.

    I do like the colours. 🙂

    And I like a working/different laptop.
    I’m gonna run outta ’em soon enough if I don’t keep my nose in my own business and walk the talk! *laughing*

    • Boy, Mel, seems you have a computer rebellion happening! Thanks for persisting and leaving your much appreciated comments. The thing about the “marching orders” – they come in different packages at times. It’s important to have them validated by other sources. You folks are definitely one of the sources.

  11. I think you put more than enough effort into the content you write on here.
    At the end of the day i think good communication comes not from a like (though it does lift my spirits to see lots of likes on my post) but a good old fashioned comment or message.
    Personally, i think you should keep going exactly as you are.
    I know i enjoy my visits

  12. Hi Viv and Amy .. commenting can be a pain & there must be a reason why .. I too struggle to comment on some blogs – even blogspot ones, despite being a spotty ‘owner’ too! It depends on the way they’re set up … if the comment box pops out separately etc etc ..

    I get round it – which is laborious I know – by using a different browser. I’ve started using Chrome, from IE, but have opened the IE Chrome App, .. it’s still a pain & I have to click sometimes four times before the wretched comment goes up (& at that stage it is wretched!) .. but I want to leave it .. because they’re over on my site! Or I want a presence .. so I just get on with it .. And it is on blogspot blogs .. even though they may not appear to be so ..

    Now to answer your post – the stats and info you give are extremely interesting – the 80/20 principle we know … but the 1% aspect – makes so much sense, but I hadn’t terribly thought about it.

    Like button – I don’t do that .. and am not sure it’s in place on my blog … it is on the post within FB ..which gets a few click Likes. I’d hate to use the Like button only .. I like the interaction of comments.

    I can struggle to understand what is being said sometimes .. so find thought provoking posts need my energy to absorb the lesson within. On the other hand I definitely wouldn’t be without them .. and take them as part of my personal learning curve.

    Balancing time is challenging .. but if we wish to be recognised in which ever field we’re in .. then we have to put the work in, then we can enlist help, then we can start hitting the big time – well if we continue on … Our passion is our work .. and should be treated as that – but it is our decision as to how far we want to go along the path of blogging and where we want to end up.

    I would say that most people who are successful are also hardworkers and their lives probably aren’t or weren’t on the way up properly in balance …

    I think it’s important to build relationships with those we blog with and receive comments from … read blogs only – that we learn from, without commenting … it’s a balance and learning mechanism.

    It’s keeping our eyes open .. the hurdle can be jumped or worked around .. nothing is unfigureable (a phrase I heard recently) …

    I think that’s enough rambling for now!! .. cheers Hilary

    • Thank you, Hilary. You’ve given us lots to think about. I like the connecting aspect of comments as well. It’s good practice to say something meaningful with as few words as possible. Poets work on that constantly so I know it’s possible – I just have to work hard at it. 😀

  13. Hi there, I like this post and I like your comments. There is a genuineness and a warmth that radiates from your blog and also the comments you’ve left on mine. Just keep doing what you do, write who you are, and write as frequently or as infrequently as you choose. Keep commenting when you feel like it (and do drop by my blog when it occurs to you!) Don’t use the Like button too much PLEASE! I am not a Facebook user but for a specific reason, I have started to investigate it. I see the Walls, and they are fascinating to read, many an hour can be whiled away – but they are empty drivel. The comments your readers make, and the comments you have made on my blog, show thoughtful engagement – someone who is palpably present. Our world and online communication is going too much the Facebook route, and this saddens and worries me. If people have the time to make the effort to press the Like button 20 times, then surely they could make the effort to write a meaningful comment just once! Sorry – that’s my rant for the evening. I enjoyed this post, thanks.
    Karin

    • Thank you very much, Karin. Appreciate your feedback. You touched on a subject dear to me – a desire to share meaningful commentary with people we meet on our blog path. We are setting precedents so let’s continue to be an example!

  14. Another great post, Amy. I reckon you have plenty of excellent built-in guidance that has brought you this far already and will take you much further. Souldipper is fabulous as it comes 🙂

  15. I can’t restate more eloquently than what everyone else has said about what they want from your site Amy.. I think your engaging conversation, your thought provoking muses, make for an earthy experience, I very rarely find around blogosphere.. That is why I make an attempt to get here every 10 days, which I find is very very little time that I spare.. I hope to learn from your experiences, time management and much more! Life has been demanding and it is my blog-life that is having to suffer these days 😦
    Waiting to see you deliver on our writing wishes.. 😀
    Rachana.

    • Hi Heart of my Heart –

      We really are breaking new ground, Rachana.

      I think more and more of us will have to have “time outs” occasionally on this blogging world. Plus we have to keep an honest tab on how much we become inflicted with the need to be ‘in there’, ‘connected’, ‘a part of’…

      Thankfully, after doing an inventory on my life, there is much less pressure on me about being on the computer and keeping up with the community. Look at how long it took me to reply!

      I miss your more consistent presence, but I understand and know you are there – taking care of biz.

      Meanwhile, on Face Book, I’m learning about some terrifically delicious looking Indian food – like satya. Yummmm!

  16. Hi souldipper – I probably do not come to your blog often enough to comment specifically about the true content of your posts. However, when I do visit, I am uplifted and really enjoy the posts that I read. You’ve opened up a whole new way of thinking of spirituality, and for that, I am grateful.

    For me personally, I would probably read more of your posts, if they were a little shorter. I hope you don’t mind me saying this. I think for me it’s because I have so many posts to look through that I tend to skim read them first to see if anything jumps out at me, then I read them fully. If the posts are too long, I think I give up half-way through and thus do not give that post enough consideration. I’m not sure if any of your other readers are quite as lazy as I am though!

    Thanks for another interesting post my friend! And thanks for YOUR visits to my own blog.

    Chloe xx

    • Yes, Chloe, thank you for your feedback. I think of the length all the time. It’s one of the reasons I do not publish frequently. I, too, read many blogs – of varying purposes – and, you are so correct, it is time consuming. My guides, I’m certain, are delighted that you are uplifted.

  17. Pingback: 7 Reasons to Press “Unsubscribe” « Spirit Lights The Way

  18. Pingback: From Cyber Friends to Fast Friends « Spirit Lights The Way

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

