The Guides – Give to Live

What a comfortable chair.  Good to be back.  Duc thinks so, too – all curled up on his cushion beside my laptop, toasting under the lamp.

Duc obsessed for three days so intensely that he was away for 18 hours at one point.  When he came in, he would conduct a five minute investigation, sniffing for some scent that was apparently absent.  Rabbit? Raccoon?  My cuddly angora feline transformed into his ancestral panther persona. Finally, a few nights later, I arrived home to a large, beheaded rat on my door mat.  The tail, attached to its fat, small-dog sized body, was over a foot long.

Duc has been on R & R since the trophy kill and has not stopped purring.  I’m changing the name on his house outside to Sir Duc le Chat.

We experienced rains heavier than I’ve seen before.  The other morning, I had to forgo my morning walk to prepare for a gathering.  Dressed and ready to meet with good friends, I walked outside to a flood in my yard and driveway.  Water rushed over the culvert, flooding the street and cutting new routes to escape down the hill.

Fortunately, using a grass whip, I was able to finally clear the the debris from the culvert’s opening.  Branches had plummeted down the ditch.  Evidently my innocuous trickling stream had been a raging torrent for some hours according to the erosion.  The incredible power of water.  Which is worse:  Too much or too little?

At times when “blue jobs” demand my immediate attention, I want my Dad to suddenly appear with solid advice and a strong arm.  I want his reassuring hug that we simply need to proceed “slow and steady”.  His wisdom has carried me through blizzards, mountain climbing, highways covered with ice, floods, and a broken heart.  Age and experience has no bearing on my vulnerability.  It thrives.  I admit unabashedly that I would have given my eye tooth to have him by my side.

A close second would be one of my big brothers who both loathe ferries.  Or, one of my many nephews who can handle blue jobs just as well as their grandfather.

The Angel for Orphans

Sprinkled amongst the episodes in blue, I’ve managed to coax pink morsels into my repertoire.  Baking, making vegetable lentil soup, studying the Law of One, meditating, visiting with special people, helping with office work and marvelling over the awesome invitations I’ve been receiving for Christmas.

Providing Intuitive Messaging for people causes time to pass faster than a bullet train in Japan.  I cherish each minute.  A time of intense love from the Guides, there seems a sense of deep bonding with the person asking for the session.  One of the sessions was so filled with peace and joy that I’m left with a sense of having been gifted with a bundle.

So many contacts now come through email, over the phone, on Skype and with Gmail’s new phone service.  I’m learning to accept a closeness that is not hatched in person, even if it’s with people I love who are grieving the loss of loved ones.  One of my close friends, J., whose mother recently died, is hosting two of her brothers for a few days.  In exploring their grief together, they discovered new feelings. They could not come up with a word on which they could hang those feelings.   They knew Sarah didn’t want to live any longer.  They were relieved that she no longer suffered pain.

“So what have we lost, really?” J. asked.

“A masthead?” I asked.

“A masthead…” she said.

“As orphans, we no longer have the layer of protection between us and our own deaths.  Now we, too, are vulnerable.”

Orphan status haunts so easily, so involuntarily, during emergencies, around grief and a whole bunch at Christmastime.

***

So, my Beloveds.  After a few years of practice, I ought to know what to do. I can give.

Giving with sensitivity, love and compassion opens hearts.  Who cares the degree?  Give to blow out the temptation to believe in separateness.  Give to trump up the courage to let humans see your vulnerabilities in all their glory.  Give so others can become willing to expose theirs.  Give so loving souls have a place to love back.  Give so invitations turn armor into an intimacy that sustains souls into perpetuity.

I can do that.  To whatever degree.

Love does not need to be defended, only given.    Love does not need to be defended, only lived.  With gratitude for all who give in partnership with the Infinite Mercy of The One.

36 thoughts on “The Guides – Give to Live

  1. Oh my goodness Souldipper, how I’ve missed reading your beautiful, well-told, inspiring stories and hearing the affirming messages of your Guides. (I still have a cue of 20 or so left…been so busy…).

    Happy Christmastime Blessings to you Dear Friend ❤

  2. Oh, you are so gentle, pink and feminine Amy!! There is only a tinge of feminity in me, when I assign all the blue jobs to the man of the house, like fixing a broken sink pump, or repairing a washing machine.. 😀
    May the rat rest in peace.. !

    • Whatever you are, thank goodness for it all, Rachana! I love your tenderness, your bombasticism (is that a word?), your wisdom, your wicked sense of humour… – all wrapped up in woman who I suspect can be who is needed at any given moment.

  3. I think it’s a good thing to come and nod and sense the rightness.

    I enjoy the candid sharing of what your Guides offer you.
    I leave here feeling more centered in what I know to be good and right and true.

    I don’t think it was the mortality issue with me when I became ‘orphaned’. It was that loss of connection and ‘home’. I still am at a loss with the ‘home’ deal sometimes.

    Pink with blue. Yup, purple. Which is why I’m sticking with blue. Well, that and I suck with the pinks of the world. 😉

    • I remember realizing there was no one else in the world who understood the inside of my every cell the way my mom (any mom?) could. Thereafter, I’d have to explain myself if I needed to be understood. Jeez, Mel, maybe there is a very good reason to be married to the same man for half a century. Pinks can really confuse me lots of times, too, Mel!

  4. Thanks Amy, what beautiful sentiments you chose to share with everyone about love and giving. I do think we feel more vulnerable when we lose those we love, and have spent so many years loving. There’s such a sense of loss, as you say noone else knows us as well, without even using words, and yet I can’t help but think and remember that we are their legacy, what will we do with our time left to bring honor to them. Grief is so unpredictable, it always attacks when you are least expecting it. I think giving of ourselves to others helps make a small dent in grief, it doesn’t allow the grief to consume us or render us disabled, or disfunctional. Still though, there is something so missing in our lives, and we can’t get it back, we can only remember it, treasure it.

    • Beautiful comment, Dee. (I was just thinking about you yesterday and here you are!) It’s so important that we talk about our feelings around grief – not only for our own health and spiritual well-being, but also to help those who are in the process of it. While in the middle of grief, it’s too difficult to sort out the feelings so just knowing that the confusion, anger, resentments, etc, is “normal” is a big help. During Grief recovery sessions, so often, the most important factor that needs to be established right away is that they are not “crazy”, they are full of grief. Thanks for sharing from your own experience, Dee. That makes it authentically loving.

  5. Hello My Friend…I can so relate to your feelings about your Dad….I miss mine terribly too…not so much for advice…I am so bad a taking advice…but for his great sense of humour.
    Lovely post.

    • Granny, about the only time I’m able to swallow advice happily is when the chips are down and I don’t have the answer!! I think dads know how to get their girls to listen better than anyone in the world!

  6. Beautiful post, Amy. It made me think how much missing those we love, who have gone before us, is a part of the picture, here. Those I’ve loved and grieved their loss have proven, through life, to return through those opportune moments when I see my Mother’s smile in my Granddaughter or hear my Father’s footsteps in the beat of my son’s feet walking in the door for a visit. My beloved kitty flitting past in a blur of black and white fluff out of the corner of my eye. Acceptance of those gifts have softened the blow of grief and helped me to believe that there is so much more if we are only willing to listen and see. Thank-you for reminding me of these precious gifts.

  7. One of the saddest experiences we can have is that knowing you haven’t given the best gift for a beloved who already passed to the spiritual world. And it’s odd that it’s so easier to give material things than to give our free time and kind deeds isn’t it?

  8. Hi Amy .. I love his Sir Duc le Chat .. mighty fine Master of Rats am I …

    Dealing with any blue job is frustrating .. as it’s usually come at an unexpected time – just very glad I’m not out in our snow .. couldn’t get the car up the slope today – so no visit to my mother sadly.

    Certainly having my mother around still and having had such a wonderful experience with her – if she’d just gone – it would have been awful … I am so grateful for the time to say goodbye and to meet all the wonderful people I have met & then to start blogging, which I probably wouldn’t have done – at least not with the blog I’ve got. Coincidences ..

    Giving – this is the season for peace and blessedness in all things .. with a hug or two & a snow ball?! Cheers Hilary

    • Where I live in Canada, Hilary, when it snows, it only lasts a while – then the rains take it away. So no snowball fights with you right now! You’d win hands down. Yes, your blogging discovery story is so like the Universe. That is the ease, the gentle nudge, the loving direction that is it’s signature. It’s so often overlooked. “When the door closes, a window opens.”

      • Hi Amy .. thanks – ok no snowball fights then! It did start raining a bit – but I’m sure is freezing right now – I’ll walk up to Mum’s tomorrow.

        It is interesting how the blog came about .. but as you say – the door closes, and another opens .. never been shut out so often, or have another window open in front of me – a roller coaster ride recently.

        & I love Jamie’s comment .. we appreciate what you’re doing .. and Jamie’s comment that when Mum goes I’ll be the elder orphan .. a bit of a shock thought! With some smiling hugs across the airwaves .. Hilary

  9. We embrace pink and blue morsals alike. Simply lovely post, Amy. Thank you.

    I sympathize with your friends over the loss of their mom and the feelings it arouses. When my mom died, I too felt like an orphan. It was also a shock to realize that I had become – in an instant – the family elder with all that implies including even more pressure to be a good role model.

    Hugs to you and Guides –

    Thanks to your many visits to my site – and mine to you are not – as you say – “reciprical” … I enjoy and value what you are doing here, Amy. I hope you will be at it a long, long time.

    Jamie

    • Jamie, I doubt you want to hear this…you are a regal matriarch. Your wisdom and dignity are blueprints for living. Your family is fortunate. Our matriarch (my oldest sister) has just been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. Losses continue, but out of the ashes…

  10. You sound as though you’ve arrived at some wonderful, perfect place after a long and arduous journey. It comes through in every line, as well as between every line! The people around you must be very fortunate.

    • “No” to perfection, but would you be willing to send some emails to a few people in my life?. Even though I didn’t comment on your article Things I Might Be Certain About, I have to confess that, yes, there have been some arduous journeys. Thankfully, not all in this lifetime. Can I hear you grinding your teeth? I am an old soul and have even been told (a few times) I am on my last life – which sounds like a fabulous plan to me. And I have no idea what is next, but I do know there’s some sort of “next”. Einstein gave me my “aha” moment. E=MCsquared. Energy transforms all over the place. Check out some of those perennials in those PEI beds.

      By the way, I really enjoy your writing and all the interesting reader comments you attract. Thanks, Charles.

  11. Exquisitely said, Amy – and guides. So happy to hear of your expanding role in so many lives. You’re clearly in the right place 🙂

    … and Lady Jina sends a high five to Sir Duc!

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

