Love From The Soul

I love my friends neither with my heart nor with my mind.
Just in case…
Heart might stop.    Mind can forget.
I love them with my soul.
Soul never stops or forgets.♥

-  Mevlana Celaleddin Rumi  (September 30, 1207 – 1273)

Tomb of Rumi in Konya

Rumi’s poetry can simply appear, to some, an excellent read, full of great language and clever concepts.  Others feel Rumi rolls in ecstasy over life and living.  Thankfully some readers ache with empathy, living the depth of Rumi’s love for the Beloved.

Amazing that Rumi resurfaced in the midst of our fast-paced world.  With “thinness” of soul, the world has been extolling the virtue of multitasking.  “Don’t give anyone your undivided attention”, the world insinuated.  “If you do, you are showing your lack of ability to do numerous tasks at one time.  No, no, it’s okay that the world is experiencing half-cocked, shoddy, incomplete, unfinished, and unsafe products.  Git ‘er done!”

Consequently, some folks listen and read in this same manner.  Ever notice how often a poignant part of your email, your instruction or your explanation has been rendered non-existent?  Likely the person is absorbing data from at least two other sources.

Although my friends and I love from our souls, we have all slipped into this slope of busy chaos.  If we loved with only our hearts or minds, our relationship would have been toast by now.  Soul friendships need reciprocal empathy and compassion.  They stand firm in the face of character defects and human imperfections.  Acceptance slips in as needed.

Rumi’s poem says it so succinctly.  Typically, he’s providing a mirror that has only one reflection – the reader’s soul.  If I begin taking stock of some other person as I read, I’ve lost the gem.  I have released the richness, the value of Rumi’s exquisite depth.

Speaking of that depth, last year, I was given an opportunity to explore my respect for this poet:  A Rumi-reading gentleman had adopted the knack of snagging women with a few good spiritual quotes and concepts.  He confided that he wanted to present a persona of quality to attract a particular woman who, coincidentally, was inheriting a million dollars in a few months when she attained an age of a particular decade.

“I’m going to have a gathering to celebrate Rumi’s birthday. Bring some of your Rumi books so we can have some readings and discuss them.”

“Is she familiar with Rumi or the Sufi teachings?” I asked.

“She has never mentioned it to me, but she’s really spiritual,” he said.

“What is her path?”

“Well, I know she does Yoga,” he waved his hand to say the subject was finished.

He said, “Bring healthy food and good wine for the toast.”

“My friend.  You are celebrating Rumi’s birthday with alcohol?  Rumi was a Sufi.  Sufi’s don’t consume anything that is mind altering.”

“Rumi drank!  I’ve read poems of his where he talks about being drunk.  Just come.”  He gathered his chattels and scooted away.  I had been silenced with astonishment.

How would Rumi have responded?  Intoxicated by the opportunity to turn on the light?  Maybe drunk with love and compassion over a situation of fragile comprehension?

I flunked my finals for that friendship.  I did not attend.  I could not be with others toasting Rumi with an alcoholic beverage knowing that his intoxication rose from the depths of his love for the Beloved, not from the effects of spirits that belied his belief system.

On the other hand, there are people who seem to ingest Rumi as easily as custard.

I listen, on radio, to Coleman Barks reading Rumi poetry.  Mr. Barks has translated many of Rumi’s works from Farsi to English.  He knows the wisdom which somehow means his reading style feeds the listener.  And when I don’t understand or have to struggle to hear the wisdom?  I feel as though I’m chasing peeled grapes through oil.  Or, searching for a lost earring in melted gold.

Do my friends and I always understand each others’ soul messages?  No, but I know we’ll share the grapes and pour the gold over each other’s hearts.

***

Hello, my beloved Guides.  Nothing like mixing Christmas and Sufism.  By the way, I have not been ‘goat herded’ into using some other vernacular for Christmas.  It is Christ’s birthday.  If all the non-believers quit benefiting from Christmas purchases, expecting gifts, taking the time off, being given time off with pay, working at double time and a half and all other indications of participation, then I’ll glean a sense of validation to the protest and be willing to re-visit the situation.  In fact, how about a Buddhamas?  I have many Buddhist friends and love lots about the teachings.  I would gladly celebrate with them.  Just a little rant…

You experienced a remarkable mediation with your friends today.

Yes, I truly did.  I was asked to be the bell ringer.  I love the sound of that little bell.  But being the bell-ringer means I had to keep track of time as well.  I really wanted to fall into the arms of the experience.

Seems you did.

I did!  I was amazed.  When I sat by my river, there was Jesus and five powerfully large Archangels.  I was thrilled.   I hugged each one, then gave each a kiss on the cheek.  I was overcome with joy.  Tears flowed down my cheeks.  I asked the Archangels to help with the time.  When I opened my eyes to take a blurry-eyed look at the clock, there was 15 seconds remaining!

Your tears were a response to Love.

Exactly.  My chest was filled.  There was little room to breathe.  It was incredible.  I thanked them all for the love that has been given so profoundly.

It is through opening to Love that your whole being can be filled with Love.  All souls can feel this joy and receive this same magnitude of Love.  It is theirs.  They need simply ask.

Before the meditation started, the Prayer of St. Francis was read.  I especially heard “it is by loving that we are loved.” Then, the request that I “understand rather than seek to be understood”.  Suddenly I realized that I have been wanting to be understood.  That attitude prevents me from attracting loving souls and situations.  That also brought tears.  It felt like a cleansing.

Many blessings.  We will not add further to this today. We thank you for being willing to share yourself openly.

I hope that is not your exquisitely loving way of telling me that I talked too much today.

Your openness gives to others – in this situation as well as in your life.

I trust that you will help me know when I “talk over the line”.

We will continue to joyfully live up to the responsibility which we so lovingly have undertaken.  The Beloved knows our gratitude.  May all who know you realize that they have the same Love supporting them, every moment.

34 thoughts on “Love From The Soul

  1. I really enjoyed your post today. It is overwhelming for me to imagine the man–Rumi. The depth of feeling and love he was filled with comes through so totally in his writings. I just love it.

    Arlene

    • Rumi brings the deepest concepts into the light of day with the fewest of words. When I’m struggling with someone’s presence, I remember Rumi’s line: “Two stones cannot occupy the same space, but two fragrances can.” It cools my arrogant little jets.

  2. Hi Amy this was so interesting – as I’d never really come across Rumi – but your picture and the era 1200s fascinated me .. so just been over & Wikipediated it for a quick scan. Fun .. might do a post sometime?!

    I love the quote at the beginning .. thanks so much .. for posting this .. Hilary

    • You are welcome, Hilary. Another benefit in blogging – we learn about the most fascinating people and concepts from other bloggers. And they’ve done the lion’s share of the sifting and sorting to give us that gem.

  3. I read somewhere that Rumi was Sufi for only 9 of his 66 years . . .

    Maybe he drank intoxicating beverages prior to embracing the Whirling Dirvish lifestyle of Sufism? :)

    • Hi Nancy – Not an authority, I was taught that Sufism is the mystical side of Islam. Re the “nine years” – Wikipedia says, “For nine years, Rumi practiced Sufism as a disciple of Burhan ud-Din until the latter died in 1240 or 1241. Rumi’s public life then began: he became an Islamic Jurist, issuing fatwas and giving sermons in the mosques of Konya. He also served as a Molvi (Islamic teacher) and taught his adherents in the madrassa.” Rumi was also credited with being the one to instigate the whirling dervishes as a meditative practice.

    • That may have been the nine years I recalled ~ I did a bit of reading on Rumi after we talked about him a few weeks ago.

      And LOL at how I spelled Dervish. I knew it looked “wrong” last night but I was too tired to worry about it. :)

    • Jamie, Interesting that you find areas to question about the CB translations. I have different Sufi books with loads of Rumi poetry, but I have not come across contradicting versions of the same poem – that I’m aware of.

  4. I began reading this post while I was translating some work for a client. The moment I reached the word multitasking, I knew I’d not do justice to anyone or anything if I continued reading it.

    The work is done. And I am here. Thank you for this beautiful essay on a much laughed-at concept of being-and-doing-just-because.

    A Happy Christmas to you and yours, Amy!

    Priya

    • Aren’t we something, Priya? – we just keep loading the layers of demands on ourselves. Good for you – you have not lost your ability to “discipline” self and to be with intent. Lots of Christmas blessings to you and yours, as well!

    • Hey, Granny – hope Christmas is kind to you and that you end up with some hard won R&R. I keep wondering if I’d ever get into the spirit in South Africa where one could shop in shorts and tank tops! My Christmas angel is not moving from her “nightlight” post to go outside this year. My decorations this year are presents I’ve wrapped. That means my friends have to wait until Christmas Eve to get their gifts.

        • Oh, Tokeloshe, that is so funny. I really did think you meant in Canada. When I lived up by Yukon, people often went camping when it was -50 degrees. (That’s the same temp in F or C) And usually it was people who came from some warmer climate…they just had to prove they could do it. I’m glad you have no need to do that. :)

  5. Wow – such powerful words those:

    “I love my friends neither with my heart nor with my mind.
    Just in case…Heart might stop. Mind can forget. I love them with my soul.
    Soul never stops or forgets.”

    Hope that you have a wonderful Festive Season and that 2011 is a great year for you and loved ones xx :D

  6. Ah, this is gorgeous, Amy! I LOVE your imagery of the grapes and gold, as well as the special reminder of St Francis’ profound prayer. It’s too wonderful to have dropped by today :-) Bless you back, XO

Love to "hear" from you...please leave a comment. If you wish to Subscribe, go to the "Home" tab and look to the right.

